Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Blog Tour Stop! "A Cowboy's Christmas Promise" by Maggie McGinnis



A Cowboy’s Christmas Promise
By: Maggie McGinnis
Releasing November 18th, 2014
Loveswept




In a captivating novel spiced with holiday magic—perfect for fans of Rachel Gibson, Susan Mallery, and Molly O’Keefe—a rugged Montana man mends a Northeast girl’s jaded heart.

Boston veterinarian Hayley Scampini tends the city’s pampered pets but dreams of the rural life of a country vet. She’s single and determined to stay that way, convinced that love isn’t permanent enough to trust. Then a vacation to the Whisper Creek dude ranch introduces her to Daniel McKee, a sexy single dad who runs the kind of veterinary practice she aspires to—and rattles her conviction to keep men at a distance.

Managing a thriving practice, coping with the loss of his wife, and fighting a custody battle with his in-laws over his twin daughters, Daniel couldn’t be more overwhelmed. Hayley is a godsend, accompanying him in the field and winning over his girls. It doesn’t take Daniel long to realize he’s falling for this woman, hard and fast. So before Hayley returns to Boston, he extracts a promise: that she will return to Whisper Creek for Christmas. It’s the perfect time and place to show Hayley that the promise of a beautiful life together is something she can believe in.

Please enjoy the following excerpt from "A Cowboy's Christmas Promise"

Roscoe motioned them back onto the road. “You two get out of here. Whisper Creek’s a-waitin’ for ya.”
A minute later, they crested a hill with the best view west of the Mississippi, and Hayley sighed in pleasure. The rolling vistas never ended out here. It was nothing like the crowded, noisy streets of Boston, that’s for sure.
“Ahh, vacation.” Hayley slid her shoe off and stuck her bare foot out the window.
“You think this is good. Wait ’til I introduce you to the man of your dreams.”
“I don’t really need man-of-my-dreams-level assistance here. Man-of-the-week would be just fine.”
“I don’t really deal in the of-the-week variety. Sorry.” Kyla smiled innocently. “I’m all about the staying kind.”
Hayley rolled her eyes, but didn’t let Kyla see her do so. “Okay, fine. Tell me about the vet. Does he do big animals or regular-sized ones?”
“Mostly horses.”
“Lucky. His clients could eat mine for lunch.”
“So you still have nothing but mini-beasts?”
“Not by choice.”
“Wait ’til you meet Moose. You’ll wish you could take him home.”
Hayley’d heard about Kyla’s fated trip to the Humane Society last week, but hadn’t yet seen any pictures. Apparently she’d gone in to drop off a donation—and come out with a dog who weighed more than her.
“Is he ugly?”
“So ugly that he’s cute, yes.”
“Does anything about him match anything else?”
“Not a thing. He’s got one white paw and three black ones. A funny brown circle around his right eye. A tuft of hair that sticks up randomly from his head.”
“Sweet. Does he slobber?”
“All the time.”
Hayley put her hands to her chest. “I’ll adopt him.”
“Ha. You’ll have to get by Decker. Those two are already joined at the hip. Plus, he’d take up half your apartment. And eat Brutus.”
“Brutus could use a big brother to look up to. He’s got serious little-dog syndrome.”
Kyla laughed again. “I still can’t believe you adopted a cockapoopa—wait—what is he again?”
“He’s a great Dane in disguise.”
“Of course.”
“So back to the vet. Deets, please. Height? Weight? Eye color?”
Kyla winked at her. “He might just be the sweetest guy I know, next to Decker.”
“So he’s hideous looking. Thanks, Kyla. You’re a true friend.”
“He’s not hideous at all. He’s actually quite . . . attractive.”
“If you can get beyond the crooked nose and snaggletooth and beer belly?”
“Exactly. And I mentioned he’s eighty-seven, right? Because that’s the kind of friend I am?”
“Fine. Call me out on being shallow.”
“You’re not shallow. You’re just not thinking long-term potential here.”
“I’m on cowboy-vacation. I’m not supposed to be thinking about long-term potential. Have you seen your own website? It practically screams ‘fling!’”
“You’re no more a fling type than you are a nun, missy.”
“Don’t be so sure. I’m working up to it.”
“What’s your record now?”
“Longest relationship or shortest?”
“I’m not sure you’ll ever beat the forty-five minute one from 2008, so let’s go with longest.”
“Thirteen weeks.”
Kyla was quiet for a moment as they cruised into downtown Carefree. Then, “Doesn’t it ever get old?”
Hayley sighed. Of course it got old. But it sure was better than the alternative. Definitely better than tying yourself to a guy you thought would be there for eternity, only to have him take off the moment you actually started to believe that this one was the forever variety. Been there, done that, had the T-shirt.



Praise for Maggie McGinnis

“Maggie McGinnis writes the kind of characters that keep you smiling long after you turn the page.”—USA Today bestselling author Katie Lane

“A writer with a talent for both humor and emotion.”—New York Times bestselling author Lori Handeland, aka Lori Austin

“McGinnis comes out of the chute with force, grabs your emotions, and gets a death hold on your attention to the last page, where you sigh and wish there was one more chapter.”—New York Times bestselling author Carolyn Brown

“Heartwarming and sweet, Maggie McGinnis is definitely an author to watch!”—USA Today bestselling author Tina Leonard


Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22396054-a-cowboy-s-christmas-promise?from_search=true

Buy Links : Amazon Barnes | iBooks | Kobo



Author Info
Maggie McGinnis is the author of Accidental Cowgirl and Driving Without a License, which was a finalist for Romance Writers of America’s Golden Heart Award. A former high school English teacher, an accomplished musician, and a certified black belt, she lives in New England with her family.

Author Links: Website Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads


Rafflecopter Giveaway ($25.00 eGift Card to choice Book Seller and Loveswept Mug and Tote )


OR,

10 comments:

Maggie McGinnis said...

Thanks so much for hosting me today, Kimberly!!

Delene Yochum said...

A sweet holiday read!

Millie Swank said...

This is so the book to read this holiday season! I am like a kid waiting for Santa, in waiting for this book to show up on my kindle!

Lisa Olech said...

This is sitting on top of my TBR pile!! Can't wait! It will be my Christmas treat!

Jennifer Schultheis said...

A Cowboy's Christmas Promise is one of the best holiday books, I've read in a long time!

Bette Hansen said...

Can't wait to read this one!!

Cheri Allan said...

Another fab excerpt! Can't wait to read this! :)

Darlene Holley said...

This sounds like another great book by Maggie McGinnis!! I can't wait to read it :)

Tasty Book Tours said...

Thank you so much for hosting today!

Maggie McGinnis said...

Aw, you guys are so sweet!! Thank you!! I hope you love it!!